my kind of meat market

by reallykindofamazing

I am visiting my sister and her family in Spain for the month.  She lives in a tiny town in the mountains about 20 miles north of Barcelona named Argentona.  It’s beautiful here.  I’ve been walking the kids to school and helping out around the house… I’ve been doing a lot of cooking!  One of my favorite things about cooking in a foreign country is, well, the shopping part.  All of the stores here are small and specialized.  It usually takes going to a few to gather all of the ingredients for a meal.  I’ve only been here a little over a week and people already know who I am when I come by to shop.  Sometimes it seems that the shopping takes me longer than the cooking once I factor in all of the time spent chatting.  It’s wonderful.  Yesterday I made ‘ropa vieja’ for my brother-in-law’s birthday dinner.  I walked down to the local butcher for the meat, and was pleasantly surprised to see that it is run by women.  An all women meat market!  Rosa, Carmen and Pilar are so sweet and so charming.  I wish you could meet them.

